ColdBeams 2017

Conference on ultracold atom, ion and electron beams
July 10-12, 2017, Eindhoven, the Netherlands


ColdBeams 2017 aims to present a platform to discuss and take stock of new developments in atom, electron and ion sources with an emphasis on, but not limited to, laser-cooled sources. ColdBeams 2017 is the second conference in this series after the successful meeting in France in Nîmes in 2012. The conference intends to connect academic researchers with industrial and commercial partners to explore applications in imaging, microscopy, spectroscopy, nanofabricaton and other fields. Both fundamental and technological aspects related to ultracold and other novel particle beams will be discussed. The ultimate goal is to advance the state-of-the-art in particle sources and applications by fostering collaboration and knowledge transfer.

Conference themes include

  • Ultracold particle sources
  • Novel electron, ion and atom beams
  • Next-generation analysis intruments using particle beams
  • Alternative sources for low emittance/high brightness/low energy/ultrafast resolution
  • Matter waves and quantum sources
  • Pushing limits of particle microscopy and diffraction
  • Materials analysis with particle beams
  • State of the art in nanostructuring and nanofabrication
  • Ultrafast electron techniques

Important dates

  • Abstract submission deadline: June 6, 2017 <--- EXTENDED DATE
  • Registration deadline: June 5, 2017
  • Acceptance of abstracts: June 6, 2017
  • Meeting: July 10-12, 2017

Scientific Committee

  • Dr. Daniel Comparat, Laboratoire Aimé Cotton (FR)
  • Prof.dr. Francesco Fuso, University of Pisa (IT)
  • Dr. Yuval Greenzweig, Intel Corporation (IL)
  • Dr. Erik Kieft, FEI Company (NL)
  • Prof.dr. Jom Luiten, Eindhoven University of Technology (NL)
  • Dr. Jabez McClelland, National Institute of Standards and Technology (USA)
  • Prof.dr. Ferdinand Schmidt-Kaler, Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz (D)
  • Prof.dr. Robert Scholten, University of Melbourne (AUS)
  • Dr. Adam Steele, zeroK NanoTech (USA)
  • Dr. Matthieu Viteau, Orsay Physics (FR)
  • Dr. Edgar Vredenbregt, Eindhoven University of Technology (NL)
  • Dr. Kevin Weatherill, Durham University (UK)

Local Organizing Committee

  • Edgar Vredenbregt, chair
  • Betty Eversdijk
  • Peter Mutsaers
  • Steinar Wouters


Eindhoven University of Technology KNAW
Eindhoven University of Technology Koninklijke Nederlandse
Akademie van Wetenschappen
FEI Company Foundation for Fundamental Research on Matter
FEI Company Foundation for Fundamental
Research on Matter
Orsay Physics NIST
Orsay Physics National Institute of
Standards and Technology
Intel Corporation


Moglabs Laser 2000
Moglabs Laser 2000
Springer Menlo Systems
Springer Menlo Systems
Radiant Dyes